Cinnamon Rolls – Gluten Free Edition

I’ve been making an old family recipe of cinnamon rolls for about 10 years now. A tradition started by my Great-Uncle Jim who then passed it on to me. I like to think that they are the envy of all who know them. Whether or not this is true, the fact that I can no longer eat them because I am now eating gluten-free, has been a life problem.

So now that I have some time off of work for the holidays, it seemed like a good time to venture into the realm of gluten-free cinnamon rolls. I found this recipe on pinterest. I was looking for one that was similar to my old recipe – and since that recipe was similar to Cinnabon copy cat recipes, this seemed like a good one to try.

One thing is for certain – gluten-free bread dough is nothing like regular bread dough. It’s wayyyyy more sticky; the recipe actually tells you to roll out the dough between plastic wrap (for anyone who tries this and can’t get the plastic wrap off – try pulling it slowly from a different direction, there seemed to be one direction that was easier than the rest). Also, gluten free bread is much flakier than regular bread because the lack of gluten that holds the bread together. So even though this recipe has no rise time, it’s still as flaky my old recipe (which has a couple hours of rise time).

The rolls definitely tasted like Cinnabon’s, but they aren’t quite to my old recipe yet. Something about the filling is different…. And I definitely need to work on my rolling skills. Looks like more trials and tweaks in my future!

cinnamon rolls

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking Adventures / Disasters, Proof that I did these things

Leave a Reply

